

International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences

ICAS Honorary Fellow



Fred J. Abbink The Netherlands

President: 2008-2009 Programme Committee: 1998-2016 Executive Committee:2001-2010

Fred Abbink has worked for the Royal Netherlands Aerospace Center NLR from 1969-2010 with as last functions CTO (1988-2005) and CEO (2005-2010). Furthermore, he was part-time professor at the Aerospace Faculty of the Technical University Delft in the field of Aircraft Instrumentation and Avionics (1981-2017) and Programme Director Aeronautics at the German Aerospace Center DLR (1996-1998). He has been active as board member in many Netherlands and international aerospace research functions (AGARD/RTO, ACARE, GARTEUR, EREA, DNW, ETW, CEAS, FMLC, CompoWorld) and Scientific Committees AIAA, (EU Clean Sky and SESAR, VKI, TNO-Defence, NedAero, NSO, KIVI, NVvL, KNVvL). He was President of the Netherlands Association of Aeronautical Engineers NVvL (2010-2017) and of the Council of European Aerospace Societies CEAS (2014-2016). He is Officer in the Royal NL Order of Oranje Nassau, Honorary Fellow of the AIAA, Fellow of the RAeS and Academie de l'Air et de l'Espace and recipient of the CEAS Gold Award and the Royal Netherlands Aeronautical Society KNVvL Gold Medal. Furthermore, he is Honorary Member of the Polish Society of Aeronautics and Astronautics PSAA and of the NL Society of Aerospace Students Leonardo da Vinci. Currently he is a member of the Board of Trustees of CEAS, reviewer of the EU Clean Sky Large Passenger Aircraft, Systems and Technology Evaluator programmes and Chairman of the Advisory Board of the NL SME NedAero.